May 30, 2010 20 Jay Street, DUMBO

Today I went to a rehearsal for my upcoming production “7 Minutes in Heaven” at HERE Arts Center (whose bathroom with be featured in an upcoming post).  Our rehearsal space is located in 20 Jay Street in DUMBO, and it looks like it used to be a storage facility, or some type of warehouse that has now become home to many artists, writers and craftsmen.  Accordingly, the restrooms have a light industrial charm to them; metallics and efficient functionality rule here.  It’s clean and spacious, and rarely is there another person inside.  I love being able to take my time and have the place to myself.  For example, if I’m alone, I often wash my hands both before and after using the bathroom.  Call me OCD, but this is a dirty city, and using the restroom exposes some delicate areas, thank you!  But it’s something I usually don’t do if someone is around to see me.  Not here, though…in this bathroom I can sing, gaze into the mirror, check for blemishes…any of the many private things that we do in this public utility.

They have an Xlerator hand dryer, which kind of freaks me out – the powerful stream of air that shoots out of that thing is excessive for drying human skin.  I suppose it would be a great feature if you spilled something on your clothes and wanted to dry them.  The soap in the dispensers in such an intense hot pink that it seems to glow in your hand.  As you’ll see in the photo, there are scuff marks from shoes around the flushing handle.  Any woman who says she touches the handle on a toilet of this type is lying!  Hence, the scuff marks!

This is a very satisfying bathroom, and I’ll be sad when we’re done rehearsing there; that bathroom was an oasis from the noisy, busy rehearsal room and a great place to recharge in solitude.

About amyontheotherside

I've always been attentive to the public restrooms I've used...the good, the bad and the ugly! They all have their uniqueness and charms. I explore these on my blog, "From in the Can". In the rest of my life (outside of the bathroom) I have just moved from NYC to Virginia and am chronicling the experience in the "Experiment in a New Life" blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to May 30, 2010 20 Jay Street, DUMBO

  1. Charlotte says:

    At a former, stress-filled job, my only time to dance was between locking the door and shakin’ it on over to the commode. Hoorah for restroom respites!

  2. i love that you get it! thanks for being my first commenter!

Leave a Reply

