Actors’ Fund Work Program, 729 7th Ave, NY

Today I’m posting pictures of the bathroom at the Actors’ Fund Work Program in NY, NY.  Thanks to their compassionate help and sound advice, I was able to develop strategies that helped me move from NY and theatre, and land some film work here in VA.  It’s a wonderful place to go to develop your own personal resources, so I recommend that all entertainment professionals trying to better themselves and their work-life drop by and see what AWP is all about.

They also have a pretty cool bathroom.

I don’t know what company or business occupied this floor before AWP moved in, but I haven’t seen a bathroom like this since I was last in a public school.  It’s got all the classic features:  a row of perfunctory stalls with those droopy doors that we’ve discussed, shoe-horned into a tile room that looks like it was designed to be washed down with a garden hose.  It’s always been perfectly clean when I’ve used it, so I have no complaints.  In fact, it’s kind of like time traveling to middle school.  The sinks are adorable; they are designed like the industrial sinks you’d see at a dishwasher’s station in a restaurant, but they are so small!  I especially enjoy the square one.  I also like the fact that the faucets are so different at each sink.  The hot-pink soap really jazzes up the monotone room.  What makes it so pink?

Like all good throw-back restrooms, this one has the obligatory non-functional tampon dispenser.  I doubt anyone has purchased a tampon from a bathroom dispenser since 1982 – girls, correct me if I’m wrong!

The hallway into the bathroom has a full-length mirror, which is a great feature – but to stand in front of it, you risk getting smushed by the next person coming through the door.  As it is a fairly busy restroom, you can’t get quite as lost in thought as you could in the Jay Street, DUMBO bathroom, but you are guaranteed some good-humored personal interaction, as you squeeze past the other ladies coming and going through this narrow space.  Everyone at AWP is so wonderful and team-oriented that I’m happy to literally bump into them here.

Thanks to AWP and my delightful, practical and inspiring career counselor for a great learning experience and a productive start to my foray into new career areas.  Thanks to 729 7th Ave. for a good ol’ school bathroom to escape to after resume class!

About amyontheotherside

I've always been attentive to the public restrooms I've used...the good, the bad and the ugly! They all have their uniqueness and charms. I explore these on my blog, "From in the Can". In the rest of my life (outside of the bathroom) I have just moved from NYC to Virginia and am chronicling the experience in the "Experiment in a New Life" blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment