North Carolina Wildlife Education Center

Well Readers, I have been very negligent about posting recently, and as usual, I’ve made myself a big resolution to return with a vengeance, yet again creating an unrealistic goal that I am sure to abandon.  Sigh.  But I post today, because I have some good bathrooms ready to rock that I am posting in honor of some of my friends and loved ones.

Today, I celebrate my longtime friend Karen, an adventurous and creative person who knows how to party.  When she’s not egging me on to participate in some scheme of hers, she works as a marine biologist and educator in North Carolina.  She’s got a sweet beach house, and when I visited her, she took me kayaking, on a midnight walk on the beach, for the best fish tacos I’ve ever had, and kept cracking open a beer for me every time I thought I was ready to go to bed.  AND she took me to a pretty great restroom at the Wildlife Center.

This bathroom hit nearly every bullet point on my enjoyable-bathroom checklist.  It was spacious and quiet without a lot of traffic coming through.  Everything was clean, and they had a lovely little sitting room set up by the sinks where you could sit down and relax.  They even had a great shabby-chic wall hanging.  Every sink had a small basket for paper towels and there was a set of movable stairs for little kids to use to reach the sink.  It was obviously a family-friendly place outfitted to suit every age group.

My favorite touch was Karen’s contribution.  In typical Karen fashion, she combined her creativity, intelligence and humor to strike the perfect note:  in each toilet stall was an educational flyer…about animal scat.  Apropos of the location, don’t you think?

If you ever want an outdoor adventure where you can learn all about coastal wildlife, come visit the NC Wildlife Education center; after all of your tours and outdoor activities, you know where to go to take a break and freshen up!

About amyontheotherside

I've always been attentive to the public restrooms I've used...the good, the bad and the ugly! They all have their uniqueness and charms. I explore these on my blog, "From in the Can". In the rest of my life (outside of the bathroom) I have just moved from NYC to Virginia and am chronicling the experience in the "Experiment in a New Life" blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to North Carolina Wildlife Education Center

  1. Melissa says:

    I love that you reviewed a wildlife center bathroom! Ha!

Leave a Reply

