Bar Jamon, NYC

Today I bring you a restroom from the vault (in other words, a folder on my computer filled with photos of bathrooms that I haven’t posted yet).  It’s not a remarkable bathroom, though it is quite nice;  I’m posting instead in honor of a friend I’ve been thinking about recently.  She’s a talented and hip woman, with a warm heart and a good attitude.  Her recent film was the first shoot I’d ever worked on, and I loved every second of it.  We went together to Bar Jamon to talk about our lives and our work, and I am taking you all to the bathroom!

Bar Jamon was a great place for a talk – they have an elegant wine selection and the restaurant strikes the perfect balance between comfort and class.  The bathroom was a bit…matronly, in comparison.  It was lovely, but showing it’s age.  Sometimes my photos don’t quite capture the color and atmosphere of a bathroom, but they nailed this one:  PINK!  It is a very warm, very close, very strong pink environment.  I’ll spare you the obvious analogies and you can decide for yourself what it might feel like to be inside.

What made it interesting is something I couldn’t quite photograph (it’s tough to get a wide shot in these little rooms):  there were was an interesting geometry to the interior.  Corners jutted into the room where the walls were apparently built around preexisting infrastructure.  There was also a little wardrobe-type closet built into the wall, dressed in the same pink as the rest of the room.

The owners hung understated but interesting art on the walls high up above the tile, which created some unity with the modern interior of the restaurant.  I like the gray, veiny cracks in the white tile; they make the place real and give it texture without being feeling too old or dirty.  The toilet paper holder was also interesting to me, I think because the clean inset in the wall and the square shape fit neatly into the geometry of the tile – it seemed like a modernist touch.  Alternatively, the interior door knob was heavy brass carved with very pretty details, much more “old fashioned”.

The room certainly provides a quick (the place was packed when we left) and warm respite for customers, and becomes a necessity after a few glasses of vino.  But what I’ll remember most from the day is the conversation with my friend – she too is the perfect combination of an elegant woman and a warm, approachable person.

About amyontheotherside

I've always been attentive to the public restrooms I've used...the good, the bad and the ugly! They all have their uniqueness and charms. I explore these on my blog, "From in the Can". In the rest of my life (outside of the bathroom) I have just moved from NYC to Virginia and am chronicling the experience in the "Experiment in a New Life" blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

