The Hammerstein Ballroom, NYC

Friends, today we’re going to change it up a little.  While designing a one-off at the Hammerstein Ballroom, I experienced the elegant restrooms of a fading relic – and I mean both bathrooms.  During an overnight tech, I was groggily unable to locate the women’s room, and felt that I had no choice but to slip in and out of the men’s room at 3am.  Fortunately, there weren’t any men around at the time, so no embarrassing moments, and plenty of time to look around!

When I say “fading relic”, I simply mean that the elegance of the bathroom is still evident, but years have eroded it’s pristine edges, and modern features have been added over top of the original style of the room.  For instance, the floor – could it really be marble? – is such a luxury:  perfectly smooth, beautiful and rich.  However, the glowing white plastic of the modern soap dispensers pull the eye up and remind one of the styleless modernity of most restrooms.

I do like the repetition of both the men’s and women’s rooms (women’s forthcoming…) which is a function of serving large audiences during short intermissions, but the long line of stalls and urinals has its own sense of luxury.  I know, I know, I’m talking about urinals, but abundance of any kind feels rich and upscale.  My favorite touch is, of course, the pink urinal cakes.  In a somber room of greys, marbles, and mirrors, this drop of color stands out.  And pink is my favorite color!

This room is befitting the distinction of the Hammerstein Ballroom, and if you see a show there, be sure to stop in – I’m sure there will be no line for the men’s.

About amyontheotherside

I've always been attentive to the public restrooms I've used...the good, the bad and the ugly! They all have their uniqueness and charms. I explore these on my blog, "From in the Can". In the rest of my life (outside of the bathroom) I have just moved from NYC to Virginia and am chronicling the experience in the "Experiment in a New Life" blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Hammerstein Ballroom, NYC

  1. Emily says:

    Ha. Urinal cakes remind me of spring cleaning day on the Office. Hehe. Nice post.

  2. chavisory says:

    Oh Hammerstein Ballroom. I never did even find the public restrooms in the course of the wild, brain-scrambling night that was the Drama Desk Awards this year.

Leave a Reply

