Corona Park, Flushing!

New York is changing so much.  On one of my last trips up, I noticed some of the subways had LED signs announcing the time until the next train…NY’ers, you’re goin’ soft on me!  You can’t just lean precariously over the edge of the platform and crane your neck to look down the tunnel like the ol’ days?!

Today, I witnessed the influence of Europe here in Queens…in the form of a pay-per-use public toilet in Corona Park, at the intersection of Roosevelt Ave. and National St.!  Seeing this big shiny room in the middle of the street stopped me right in my tracks.  I am definitely in favor of accessible bathroom options, but so strange to see this metal and glass contraption in Flushing!

This unit was out of order and the door wasn’t closing, so we were able to check it out easily.  My walking companion and I were taking photos and comparing notes to our public restroom experiences in Germany, when a gentleman walked by us into the restroom.  We quickly backed away, but could tell that he proceeded to use the bathroom despite the wide-open door.  I wasn’t too shocked…I’ve seen people using the street as a restroom in NY, so this was actually pretty classy by comparison.

NY’ers, let me know if you spot any other outdoor restrooms out there!

About amyontheotherside

I've always been attentive to the public restrooms I've used...the good, the bad and the ugly! They all have their uniqueness and charms. I explore these on my blog, "From in the Can". In the rest of my life (outside of the bathroom) I have just moved from NYC to Virginia and am chronicling the experience in the "Experiment in a New Life" blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Corona Park, Flushing!

  1. Pingback: Public toilets in NYC – in the news again | In the Can

Leave a Reply

