Pine State Biscuit…Portland, Oregon!


Fresh from Portland…the bathroom at the excellent Pine State Biscuit restaurant!  My lovely traveling companion and I had the yummiest biscuits for breakfast our first morning in Oregon.  The bathroom was peppered with all the notable characteristics of it’s home city, but wasn’t enough of any one thing to be a standout.

The first thing I noticed was the gorgeous mirror that had a vintage charm, a motif I’d see again while in Portland.  The room was clean and spacious and comfortable, but the commode was next to a sizable utility sink packed with mop bucket.  This unashamed practicality is another characteristic of this town’s vibe; Portland people aren’t afraid of a little work, and they understand the relationship between the course and the refined.  For example, my hosts enjoy excellent food…and so they raise laying chickens.  They understand where things come from and how they are made, and so Portland folks are very hands on with their homes, gardens, bikes, and food.

Though this bathroom didn’t have an extreme character to it, I enjoyed the written graffiti around the door frame, and the stickers under the paper towel dispenser.  For me, those elements represented the DIY, hipster, local art component of Portland.

I enjoyed my time there very much, mostly because of the lovely people who hosted me, and the others that I met while I was there.  At one point I mentioned the blog, and the coolest thing happened…everyone in the room told me about a unique bathroom that they loved in Portland!  It was so interesting to hear them describe these restrooms, from the unique to the disorienting (all black interior lit with only blacklight!) to the rundown, but even more interesting to hear how people felt about being in these different spaces.  This blog post is dedicated to them, and to my amazing co-traveler…I can’t wait for our next vacation!

About amyontheotherside

I've always been attentive to the public restrooms I've used...the good, the bad and the ugly! They all have their uniqueness and charms. I explore these on my blog, "From in the Can". In the rest of my life (outside of the bathroom) I have just moved from NYC to Virginia and am chronicling the experience in the "Experiment in a New Life" blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

