Skob, Sarasota, FL

I just wrapped up the three most hectic work weeks that I can remember, working on a film in Sarasota, Florida!  I had an incredible time mixing sound for the movie, and working with a great crew and production team; we worked all day together, and bunked together at night.  That left little time for going out and exploring Sarasota, but my friend and sound partner did slip away one night to find a bar and a change of scenery.

Skob had delicious food and perfect beach atmosphere; the place was open-air, everyone was tan and blonde, we enjoyed light summer beer, and – to our surprise – you can smoke in bars in Florida, and I actually found it kind of delightful.  The bathroom did not repeat the summer oceanside motif of the bar at all…one suddenly finds oneself in a disco-fabulous gridded room, with the red grout producing a visual vibration against the blue tile.  I found the frosted glass logo on the mirror to be a cheap, frat-boy college-bar touch, but I loved the door handle; it appeared to be homemade from old, left-over metal rigging components.

These disparate features didn’t produce much of an over all vibe for the restroom, but they were noteworthy each in their own way, and for a sandy, crowded and breezy little beachside bar, it was perfectly appropriate (and actually quite clean, too!).

I leave Sarasota in a few hours, having finally wrapped our movie.  I will miss being here, and I dedicate this bathroom to my crew and housemates…I’ll miss you!

About amyontheotherside

I've always been attentive to the public restrooms I've used...the good, the bad and the ugly! They all have their uniqueness and charms. I explore these on my blog, "From in the Can". In the rest of my life (outside of the bathroom) I have just moved from NYC to Virginia and am chronicling the experience in the "Experiment in a New Life" blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

