Peep in Soho, NY

Peep is aptly named, considering its unique bathroom!  I suffered an unappetizing Asian-fusion meal for the express purpose of experiencing this highly unusual public restroom…it puts an interesting, possibly disconcerting for some, twist on the notion of public versus private when it comes to restrooms.

Peep’s interior is reflective…there is a mirrored wall along one side of the long restaurant, there are mirrors all around the kitchen at the far end and behind the bar towards the front, and the ceiling’s shiny white surface reflects images of Prince Street back into the room.  Pink lights shining from under the tables along the other long side and twinkly chandeliers are all multiplied as they bounce down the long mirrored channel of the place.

Now, that long mirrored wall has two panels with handles on them…I might not have noticed, had a gentleman not exited through one in front of me.  Behind those mirrored doors are the bathrooms…and once you get inside, you are in for a surprise.  After closing the door, in the low, low lights in the restroom (it’s practically pitch-black in there), you see that the mirror is actually two-way glass…and you can see right out into the restaurant!  I was so amazed, so amused, I spent quite a bit of time in there…I danced around a little bit just to test the two-way glass.  When the diners facing me didn’t react to my antics, I decided to go for it and actually use the bathroom.  Despite what you might imagine – one uses the restroom while viewing other patrons enjoying their food – it was a far less uncomfortable experience than I, for one, might have guessed.

Inside the bathroom was so dark that the photos don’t reveal much, but you can see the the little television inset above the sink, playing old school cartoons.   You can just make out the pink florescent light emerging from under the diners’ chairs along the opposite wall as well and looking out towards the front of the restaurant, you can see the chandeliers and their reflections in the ceiling.

This killer bathroom was a brand new experience for me, and worth the trip downtown and the questionable cuisine.  Special thanks to my actor friend who recommended it to me…this post is dedicated to you!

About amyontheotherside

I've always been attentive to the public restrooms I've used...the good, the bad and the ugly! They all have their uniqueness and charms. I explore these on my blog, "From in the Can". In the rest of my life (outside of the bathroom) I have just moved from NYC to Virginia and am chronicling the experience in the "Experiment in a New Life" blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

