Fewer public restrooms in our future?

Thanks to my friend (and cousin) Margaret for this link…if you live in the city, you know what a challenge it is to spend a full day darting around Manhattan and manage your restroom breaks!  Starbucks had been one of those guilty necessities…either buy an overpriced coffee and use the restroom, or sneak in and out without patronizing the establishment.  Now there is talk that they will close restrooms both to the public and patrons.

Starbucks to Close Public Restrooms – The Daily Beast

http://www.thedailybeast.com/cheats/2011/11/16/report-starbucks-to-close-public-restrooms.html#comments

I think some of the comments following the article are interesting.  Maybe pay-to-pee public restrooms a la Europe are the way to go for cities…and it seems NY is already trying out some alternatives to the not-really-public options like Starbucks:  check out this post from my trip to Flushing not so long ago…

https://frominthecan.wordpress.com/2011/03/06/corona-park-flushing/

And a link to my previous post on Starbucks…

https://frominthecan.wordpress.com/2010/06/13/starbucks-midtown/

I’m interested in hearing from you, Chavisory!

About amyontheotherside

I've always been attentive to the public restrooms I've used...the good, the bad and the ugly! They all have their uniqueness and charms. I explore these on my blog, "From in the Can". In the rest of my life (outside of the bathroom) I have just moved from NYC to Virginia and am chronicling the experience in the "Experiment in a New Life" blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fewer public restrooms in our future?

  1. chavisory says:

    AGH!!!!!

    I don’t see how they can close the bathrooms to patrons. I have my doubts that that’s even legal.

    On the other hand, it’s just a big problem in this city that there aren’t plentiful, clean and maintained public restrooms in this city, and it shouldn’t be up to Starbucks to solve that problem.

    But…for a coffee establishment not to have restrooms open to patrons…..? Do they know anything about the physiology of coffee?

Leave a Reply

