The Blue Talon, Williamsburg, VA

I usually select a few key photos after I visit a restroom, but this one deserves all 17 images!  The Blue Talon in Colonial Williamsburg has good food and coherent ambience…until you hit the bathroom.  It was a feast for the eyes!  A carnival of components, and yet — to my surprise as I write this — it all worked for me.

The exterior door is so bland and predictable that the bright surprise that greets you has even more of an impact.  Inside are lots of delightful details for the eye, and air that is clean and fresh without heavy air fresheners.  A very good experience if you want a little privacy and a little refresher, because the decor is like a cool splash of lavender water.

The two stalls were water closet-style with real doors.  The stall I used was long and narrow and very tall, which I tried to capture for you, dear readers.  All the fixtures in the stalls were interesting:  the toilet paper dispenser, the decorative holder for the extra rolls, and especially the coat hanger on the back of the door.  Of course, no Colonial toilet would be complete without a warning about old pipes and modern feminine products.

The sink was one of my favorite things…the iridescent swirly color under the surface is the kind of thing that usually strikes me as tacky, but I really loved it.  It was a surprise given the overall pastel, wooden, clean decor of most of the room.  And still, despite the 80’s vibe coming from the veneer of the bowl the actual fixtures were rustic metal work that fell more in line with the aesthetic in the dining room.

The mosaic mirror frame, the tile floor, the pictures, the ugly and out-of-its-element paper towel dispenser (which looked like it snuck in from the Baskin Robbins next door to enjoy the clean, colorful Talon bathroom) were like a collage.

My favorite touch is what I call “The Tiniest Piece of Molding in the World,” that teeny little section of chair rail by the main door. Whoever finished the interior left nothing unattended to in this bathroom!

About amyontheotherside

I've always been attentive to the public restrooms I've used...the good, the bad and the ugly! They all have their uniqueness and charms. I explore these on my blog, "From in the Can". In the rest of my life (outside of the bathroom) I have just moved from NYC to Virginia and am chronicling the experience in the "Experiment in a New Life" blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

