Broome Street Bar, NYC

Aka Bob & Kenn’s, at that confusing little triangular corner in Soho.  This was a haunt of mine and my collaborators’ during two of the fantastic plays I’ve designed at HERE Arts Center:  Milk and Seven Minutes in Heaven.  The great beer selection and a warm, relaxed vibe made it the perfect place to wind down after previews.

Pretty great bathroom too…after you make it past the impressive sculpture of Medusa over the door, you find yourself in a tiny room into which all the fixtures have been shoe-horned.  I love the overwhelmingly pink paint job – and I mean that sincerely, although I admit it seems to be intended to distract from how rundown the interior has become.  The sink is sunk into the corner of the stall-sized room, and the ceiling slants down on one side to meet the undersized closet door.  You can see by comparison how narrow (though normal-heighted) the entrance door is.  My favorite characteristic is the homemade toilet tank cover…painted white to blend in with it’s porcelain counterpart!

About amyontheotherside

I've always been attentive to the public restrooms I've used...the good, the bad and the ugly! They all have their uniqueness and charms. I explore these on my blog, "From in the Can". In the rest of my life (outside of the bathroom) I have just moved from NYC to Virginia and am chronicling the experience in the "Experiment in a New Life" blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

